Open RIA Services User Support Web Built!....but I can't seem to reference the web from the silverlight project  Viewed 23467 time(s), 7 post(s)., 8/14/2015 7:02:31 PM - by lillypad_33

lillypad-33
lillypad_33 8/14/2015 7:02:31 PM

I'm having issues since trying to Update my project.
I updated to entity framework 6, and installed openria services and updated all the web references.... It now builds without issue.  Yea!!!!!

However, from within the silverlight project, I am referencing the web models.  ( 'Models' does not exist in the namespace xxx.xxx.Web )
The project cannot find the web models, so I am unable to use any of the entity types, and my project won't build.

I just can't seem to figure out what I am doing wrong.

Please help!

This content has not been rated yet. 
26 Reputation 2 Total posts
1
Daniel-Svensson
Daniel-Svensson 9/1/2015 5:05:12 PM

1. Have you installed the code generation package in your silverlight project
2. Have you configured a open ria services link from the silverlight project to the server project
3. If you have made both then you generated code should show up under the "Generated_Code" folder, if it is generated then have a look inside in case you got any error messages.

This content has not been rated yet. 
338 Reputation 44 Total posts
2
lillypad-33
lillypad_33 9/11/2015 2:13:31 PM

Thanks Daniel.
I gave up.
I was really excited when I saw the open ria services, but I decided that it is silly to invest time into updating any silverlight apps anymore..... Time to migrate.

This content has not been rated yet. 
26 Reputation 2 Total posts
3
timfra
timfra 11/18/2015 11:41:40 AM

Hi Daniel,

I'm experiencing the same problem as lillypad. Maybe you can help me.

I installed the Open RIA Srvices Client, Code Generation and MVVM nuget package and also changed the LinkedServerProject tag inside the Silveright Application project file to LinkedOpenRiaServerProject.

Unfortunateley the CodeGeneration is not working. Did I miss something?

This content has not been rated yet. 
25 Reputation 3 Total posts
4
Michael
Michael 12/21/2015 4:09:04 PM

Hi,

I'm having the same problem, server is compiling good but not my client models. I follow all migration tips from WCF RIA to OpenRia but the generated code on client side is still not generated.

The only thing I have while compiling the client project is this :

packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : The following exception occurred creating the MEF composition container:

packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : Unable to load one or more of the requested types. Retrieve the LoaderExceptions property for more information.

packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : The default code generator will be used.

It seems that the 'CreateOpenRiaClientFilesTask' is generating those warnings.

Could you help me because I can't fix this issue since I upgraded my solution to SL5 / EF 6 / Open RIA / .NET 4.6...

Thank you,

Michael

This content has not been rated yet. 
20 Reputation 2 Total posts
5
Tailslide
Tailslide 12/24/2015 10:02:37 PM

Getting the exact same error.  I wish I had known this was broken before I spent two days converting.   I have no idea where to even begin tracking this down.
</br>Did anyone try an older version to see if it works?

2>C:\Source\ClientSummary\Planning\packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : The following exception occurred creating the MEF composition container:

2>C:\Source\ClientSummary\Planning\packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : Unable to load one or more of the requested types. Retrieve the LoaderExceptions property for more information.

2>C:\Source\ClientSummary\Planning\packages\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.4.4.1.1\build\OpenRiaServices.Client.CodeGen.targets(302,5): warning : The default code generator will be used.

</br>

This content has not been rated yet. 
5 Reputation 1 Total posts
6
mdavid626
mdavid626 1/14/2016 2:23:46 PM

Hello,

we had the same issues.

I can advise you to check one thing:

Silverlight Project - check property SilverlightApplication in *.csproj. This value should be set to true.

Good luck.

This content has not been rated yet. 
5 Reputation 1 Total posts
7